NAHN 2020 Awards

NAHN 2020 Award Winners

NAHN presented its 2020 Annual Awards during its virtual Gala on July 17, 2020. We are pleased to announce:

Nurse of the Year for 2020 is Gina Miranda-Diaz, DNP, MS/MPH, RN (New Jersey Chapter). Presented annually to a NAHN member who has developed a creative and innovative program, intervention or strategy in one of the following areas: Improving the quality of health care in the Hispanic community by narrowing health care disparity; Recruitment, retention, professional career development (increasing the number of Hispanic nurses at all educational and professional levels), and NAHN organizational development at local, state, and/or the national level (growth, effectiveness, and communication within NAHN organizations, and with the community it serves)

Awards were also presented as follows:

Janie Menchaca Wilson Leadership Award presented to Jennifer M. Figueroa-Delgado, DNP, ANP-BC, MS, RN (New York Chapter) for outstanding leadership contributions to the local, state and national levels, and for leadership in creating programs that have positively impacted Hispanic communities.

Legacy Award presented to Ruby J. Martinez, PhD, RXN, CNS, PMHCNS-BC (Denver Chapter) for her contributions to the nursing profession with commitment to advancing the health in Hispanic Communities.

Sarah Gomez Erlach Humanitarian Award presented to Betsy M. Tirado-Ortiz, RN (Miami Chapter) for seeking ways to improve health delivery to the rural poor and migrant farm workers and their families through implementation of health programs, and advocacy and commitment to public health service to the financially disadvantaged. 

Henrietta Villaescusa Humanitarian Award presented to Guillermina Rinco Solis, PhD, APRN, FNP-C, GNP-C, FAANP (El Paso Chapter) for her contributions to the improvement of health in Hispanic communities.

Ildaura Murillo-Rohden Award for Education Excellence presented to Guillermina Rinco Solis, PhD, APRN, FNP-C, GNP-C, FAANP (El Paso Chapter) for her contributions to nursing education, research and practice, commitment to excellence in nursing and distinguished clinical expertise.

40 Under 40 Awards

NAHN 2020 40 under 40 honorees

Special Awards

NAHN also presents special awards during the Gala. 

The El Viajero  winner for recruiting and retaining members went to the Philadelphia Chapter

The Ambassador Award recognizes achievement in referring new members to NAHN.
First Place: Mabel Toscano with the El Paso Chapter -  28 referrals. 
Second Place: Esther Ibarra with the Yuma Chapter -  22 referrals.
Third Place (Tie): Rose Lopez with the Phoenix Chapter and Susana Gonzalez with the Illinois Chapter - 17 referrals.

In addition, NAHN President Norma Cuellar, PhD, RN, FAAN presented President’s Awards to NAHN Executive Director Cresta Archuletta and Past President Anabell Castro Thompson, MSN, RN, ANP-C, FAAN, FAANP.  She also presented the ACT Grant to Elizabeth Rios.