2022 Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2022 NAHN Awardees! 


The National Association of Hispanic Nurses was pleased to announce the 2022 Award Recipients at the Gala of the NAHN 47th Annual Conference in Miami, Florida. It was our great privilege to recognize the following individuals for their contribution to the world of nursing and to celebrate their accomplishments. 

NAHN 2022 Award Recipients

  • Latino Legacy Award: Anabell Castro Thompson, MSN, APRN, ANP-C, FAAN, FAANP 
  • Nurse of the Year Award: Armando Riera, MSN, APRN-BC 
  • Henrietta Villaescusa Community Service Award: Guillermina Solis, PhD, APRN, FNP-C, GNP-C 
  • Ildaura Murillo-Rohde Award for Education Excellence: Mayra G. Garcia, DNP, APRN, PCNS-BC 
  • Janie Menchaca Wilson Leadership Award: Paule Valery Joseph, Ph.D., RN, MS, FNP-BC, CTN-B, FAAN 
  • NAHN Forty Under 40 Awards: Diana Y. Ortega, BSN, RN; Elisa Martinez, BSN, RN-BC; Raymundo Marin, MSN, RN, CCRN; Rocio Sanchez, BSN, RN, PCCN; Yara Mendez, MSN, RN, CCRN

NAHN 2022 Special Awards

  • NAHN President's Award: Norma Cuellar, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • New Chapter Recognition: NAHN Greater Cincinnati Chapter
  • Viajero Award (highest chapter member growth and retention over the course of the year): NAHN Miami Chapter
  • Ambassador Awards (highest number of member referrals over the course of the year):
    • First Place: Armando Riera, MSN, APRN-BC, NAHN Miami Chapter
    • Second Place: Mirian Zavala, DNS, RN, NAHN New York Chapter
    • Third Place (tie): Norma Avitua-Ovalle, MBA-HC, RN, BSN, NAHN San Antonio Chapter
    • Third Place (tie): Arizona College of Nursing